search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
LivingLutheran


Editor & director, content Jennifer Younker jennifer.younker@elca.org


Content editors Megan Brandsrud megan.brandsrud@elca.org


John Potter john.potter@elca.org


Erin Strybis erin.strybis@elca.org


Manager, content services Andrea Pohlmann Kulik andrea.kulik@elca.org


Copy editor Bruce Helland bruce.helland@elca.org


Manager, graphics Michelle Goodman and artistic direction michelle.goodman@elca.org


Graphic designer Karen Dersnah karen.dersnah@elca.org


Print production specialist Colleen Dorner colleen.dorner@elca.org


Director, digital Dan Michel media


dan.michel@elca.org


Digital media Kris Koskinen kris.koskinen@elca.org


Brett Nelson brett.nelson@elca.org


Will Nunnally will.nunally@elca.org


Tracie Watkins tracie.watkins@elca.org


Strategic communications Barbara A. Fletcher coordinator barbara.fl etcher@elca.org


Advertising Mark K. Brewer mark.brewer@elca.org


Customer service Subscription issues, address changes, billing questions: 800-328-4648 subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran 8765 W. Higgins Rd., Chicago, IL 60631 800-638-3522; 773-380-2540; Fax: 773-380-2409


LivingLutheran.org


Living Lutheran is a member of the Associated Church Press


Subscribe: 800-328-4648 or subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran is the monthly magazine of the ELCA. Fulfi llment is managed by Augsburg Fortress, Box 1209, Minneapolis, MN 55440. (ISSN 0024-743X USPS 322080)


For display and classifi ed advertising sales: 815-858-3900; mark.brewer@elca. org. Acceptance of advertising does not imply endorsement.


Subscription rates: $19.95 a year; outside N. America add $9.20 for postage. Payable in U.S. funds. Send subscription requests to Living Lutheran Circulation, Augsburg Fortress, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730. Or subscribe online: livinglutheran.org.


On tape: Customer Service, Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440; 800-328-4648.


On microfi lm: National Archive Publishing Company (NAPC), 300 N. Zeeb Rd., PO Box 998, Ann Arbor, MI 48106-0998.


Copyright ©2017 Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. All rights reserved. Duplication in whole or in part in any form is prohibited without written permission from the publishers. Printed in the U.S.A.


Nonprofi t periodicals postage paid at St. Paul, MN, and additional mailing offi ces.


POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: Living Lutheran, Augsburg Fortress, Publishers, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730.


BETTER STORIES A few months ago, I attended a conference for religious journalists. The keynote speaker was asked how he deals with the negativity and anger that is our current daily reality. He simply said, “Tell better stories.”


Tell better stories. Every day I work with the content team to tell better stories—online, in print and on social media. Telling better stories doesn’t mean agreement. Over the past year I’ve had my share of controversy and letters, but these moments have created opportunities for discussion, growth, challenge and understanding internally, externally, personally and spiritually.


This issue marks my fi rst year as editor of Living Lutheran and the observation of the 500th anniversary of the Reformation. As we strive to continue telling better stories this month, the Reformation 500 series ends with “50 ways the Reformation still impacts pastors” (page 22). Kelly “Glow” Williams, featured on the cover and as this month’s “I’m a Lutheran” (page 12), tells how she is able share the gospel by utilizing unconventional methods. And, Presiding Bishop Elizabeth Eaton discusses her thoughts on the future with her column “Oct. 32 and beyond” (page 50).


As the chapter starts on the next 500 years of Martin Luther’s legacy, I challenge us all to actively tell better stories while sharing our faith.


We would love to hear from you. Contact us at livinglutheran@elca.org.


EDITOR’S


NOTE By Jennifer Younker


Living Lutheran is the magazine of the ELCA 4 OCTOBER 2017


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52