search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
LivingLutheran


Editor & director, content Jennifer Younker jennifer.younker@elca.org


Content editors Megan Brandsrud megan.brandsrud@elca.org


John Potter john.potter@elca.org


Erin Strybis erin.strybis@elca.org


Manager, content services Andrea Pohlmann Kulik andrea.kulik@elca.org


Copy editor Bruce Helland bruce.helland@elca.org


Manager, graphics Michelle Goodman and artistic direction michelle.goodman@elca.org


Graphic designer Karen Dersnah karen.dersnah@elca.org


Print production specialist Colleen Dorner colleen.dorner@elca.org


Director, digital Dan Michel media


dan.michel@elca.org


Digital media Kris Koskinen kris.koskinen@elca.org


Brett Nelson brett.nelson@elca.org


Will Nunnally will.nunally@elca.org


Tracie Watkins tracie.watkins@elca.org


Strategic communications Barbara A. Fletcher coordinator barbara.fl etcher@elca.org


Advertising Jennifer Younker jennifer.younker@elca.org


Customer service Subscription issues, address changes, billing questions: 800-328-4648 subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran 8765 W. Higgins Rd., Chicago, IL 60631 800-638-3522; 773-380-2540; Fax: 773-380-2409


LivingLutheran.org


Living Lutheran is a member of the Associated Church Press


Subscribe: 800-328-4648 or subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran is the monthly magazine of the ELCA. Fulfi llment is managed by Augsburg Fortress, Box 1209, Minneapolis, MN 55440. (ISSN 0024-743X USPS 322080)


For display and classifi ed advertising sales: jennifer.younker@elca.org. Acceptance of advertising does not imply endorsement.


Subscription rates: $19.95 a year; outside N. America add $9.20 for postage. Payable in U.S. funds. Send subscription requests to Living Lutheran Circulation, Augsburg Fortress, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730. Or subscribe online: livinglutheran.org.


On tape: Customer Service, Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440; 800-328-4648.


On microfi lm: National Archive Publishing Company (NAPC), 300 N. Zeeb Rd., PO Box 998, Ann Arbor, MI 48106-0998.


Copyright ©2018 Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. All rights reserved. Duplication in whole or in part in any form is prohibited without written permission from the publishers. Printed in the U.S.A.


Nonprofi t periodicals postage paid at St. Paul, MN, and additional mailing offi ces.


POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: Living Lutheran, Augsburg Fortress, Publishers, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730.


Another year has come to a close and it’s time to look ahead to a new year and new opportunities. For the past few months, the team and I have already been planning, scheduling and working on Living Lutheran for 2018. Over the next 12 months, Living Lutheran is going to focus on leaders and leadership throughout the church.


From individuals to congregations, rostered or lay, at every level, leaders are sharing their gifts. “Form a faithful foundation” (page 14) shows how leadership begins in living out our baptismal promises as children of God and grows throughout our faith journey.


In fact, every feature this month speaks to leadership. On page 38, Ordean Oen, inspired by childhood memories, accomplishes an amazing goal in “Jars and jars of giving.” “Past experience not necessary” (page 21), “The path to citizenship” (page 24) and “A welcome home” (page 33) tell the stories of how ELCA congregations are training, sustaining and supporting individuals and their communities. “Perspective: Confessing racism” (page 36) and “My faith journey: A second call” (page 40) off er individual insight on these personal topics.


And, as Always Being Made New: The Campaign for the ELCA enters its fi nal year, its steering committee co-chairs, MaryAnn and Loren Anderson, discuss the current work and the future for the campaign in “Building the church for tomorrow” (page 26).


I am thankful for your continued readership and blessed to be able to continue telling the stories of the church. Happy New Year!


We would love to hear from you. Contact us at livinglutheran@elca.org.


Living Lutheran is the magazine of the ELCA 4 JANUARY 2018 LEADING IN 2018


EDITOR’S NOTE By Jennifer Younker


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52