search.noResults

search.searching

note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
LivingLutheran


Editor & director, content Jennifer Younker jennifer.younker@elca.org


Content editors Megan Brandsrud megan.brandsrud@elca.org


John Potter john.potter@elca.org


Erin Strybis erin.strybis@elca.org


Manager, content services Andrea Pohlmann Kulik andrea.kulik@elca.org


Copy editor Bruce Helland bruce.helland@elca.org


Manager, graphics Michelle Goodman and artistic direction michelle.goodman@elca.org


Graphic designer Karen Dersnah karen.dersnah@elca.org


Print production specialist Colleen Dorner colleen.dorner@elca.org


Director, digital Dan Michel media


dan.michel@elca.org


Digital media Kris Koskinen kris.koskinen@elca.org


Brett Nelson brett.nelson@elca.org


Will Nunnally will.nunally@elca.org


Tracie Watkins tracie.watkins@elca.org


Strategic communications Barbara A. Fletcher coordinator barbara.fl etcher@elca.org


Advertising Mark K. Brewer mark.brewer@elca.org


Customer service Subscription issues, address changes, billing questions: 800-328-4648 subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran 8765 W. Higgins Rd., Chicago, IL 60631 800-638-3522; 773-380-2540; Fax: 773-380-2409


LivingLutheran.org


Living Lutheran is a member of the Associated Church Press


Subscribe: 800-328-4648 or subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org


Living Lutheran is the monthly magazine of the ELCA. Fulfi llment is managed by Augsburg Fortress, Box 1209, Minneapolis, MN 55440. (ISSN 24721034 USPS 322080)


For display and classifi ed advertising sales: 815-858-3900; mark.brewer@elca.org. Acceptance of advertising does not imply endorsement.


Subscription rates: $19.95 a year; outside N. America add $9.20 for postage. Payable in U.S. funds. Send subscription requests to Living Lutheran Circulation, Augsburg Fortress, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730. Or subscribe online: livinglutheran.org.


On tape: Customer Service, Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440; 800-328-4648.


On microfi lm: National Archive Publishing Company (NAPC), 300 N. Zeeb Rd., PO Box 998, Ann Arbor, MI 48106-0998.


Copyright ©2017 Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. All rights reserved. Duplication in whole or in part in any form is prohibited without written permission from the publishers. Printed in the U.S.A.


Nonprofi t periodicals postage paid at St. Paul, MN, and additional mailing offi ces.


POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: Living Lutheran, Augsburg Fortress, Publishers, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730.


Summer fun and memories Attending summer camp and vacation Bible school are cherished highlights of many childhood memories. Cindy Uken writes about the growing number of Lutheran outdoor ministries that off er gardening and farming as part of the camp roster (page 29). Karris Golden examines ways to create vacation Bible school as a viable and adaptable opportunity for youth faith formation (page 32). Faith and family off ers ideas on “Growing faith” through a simple gardening project (page 42).


Summer fun is not just for the young. “Friendships and fl y-fi shing” (page 26) shares the story of Holy Cross Lutheran’s Project Healing Waters ministry and how fl y-fi shing is connecting veterans through meaningful engagement. Summer also brings a new class of interns to the Lutheran Center, and intern Jonah Berg-Ganzarain earns his fi rst Living Lutheran byline— with the help of content editor Megan Brandsrud—with this story. Great job, Jonah!


As this season is winding down, I intend to enjoy the summer sun, my beautiful fl owers and my garden for one more joyous month—making memories before I begin thinking about fall.


We would love to hear from you. Contact us at livinglutheran@elca.org.


EDITOR’S NOTE By Jennifer Younker


Living Lutheran is the magazine of the ELCA 4 AUGUST 2017


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52